Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



How high we go in the dark : a novel  Cover Image Book Book

How high we go in the dark : a novel / Sequoia Nagamatsu.

Nagamatsu, Sequoia, (author.).

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780063072640
  • ISBN: 0063072645
  • ISBN: 9780063072657
  • ISBN: 0063072653
  • Physical Description: 292 pages ; 22 cm
  • Edition: First U.S. edition.
  • Publisher: New York, NY : William Morrow, [2022]

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
"For fans of Cloud Atlas and Station Eleven, a spellbinding and profoundly prescient debut that follows a cast of intricately linked characters over hundreds of years as humanity struggles to rebuild itself in the aftermath of a climate plague-a daring and deeply heartfelt work of mind-bending imagination from a singular new voice. Beginning in 2030, a grieving archeologist arrives in the Arctic Circle to continue the work of his recently deceased daughter at the Batagaika crater, where researchers are studying long-buried secrets now revealed in melting permafrost, including the perfectly preserved remains of a girl who appears to have died of an ancient virus. Once unleashed, the Arctic Plague will reshape life on earth for generations to come, quickly traversing the globe, forcing humanity to devise a myriad of moving and inventive ways to embrace possibility in the face of tragedy. In a theme park designed for terminally ill children, a cynical employee falls in love with a mother desperate to hold on to her infected son. A heartbroken scientist searching for a cure finds a second chance at fatherhood when one of his test subjects-a pig-develops the capacity for human speech. A widowed painter and her teenaged granddaughter embark on a cosmic quest to locate a new home planet. From funerary skyscrapers to hotels for the dead to interstellar starships, Sequoia Nagamatsu takes readers on a wildly original and compassionate journey, spanning continents, centuries, and even celestial bodies to tell a story about the resiliency of the human spirit, our infinite capacity to dream, and the connective threads that tie us all together in the universe"-- Provided by publisher.
Subject: Virus diseases > Fiction.
Epidemics > Fiction.
Regression (Civilization) > Fiction.
Interpersonal relations > Fiction.
Resilience (Personality trait) > Fiction.
Life on other planets > Fiction.
Maladies à virus > Romans, nouvelles, etc.
Décadence > Romans, nouvelles, etc.
Résilience (Trait de personnalité) > Romans, nouvelles, etc.
FICTION / Literary
FICTION / Satire
FICTION / Humorous / General
Epidemics.
Interpersonal relations.
Regression (Civilization)
Resilience (Personality trait)
Virus diseases.
Climate > Fiction.
Plague > Fiction.
Life on other planets > Fiction.
Genre: Science fiction.
Fictional Work
Fiction.
Novels.
Science fiction.
Science fiction.
Science fiction.
Novels.
Romans.

Available copies

  • 3 of 3 copies available at Skagit Evergreen Libraries. (Show)
  • 1 of 1 copy available at La Conner Regional Library District. (Show)
  • 1 of 1 copy available at La Conner Regional Library.

Holds

  • 0 current holds with 3 total copies.
Show Only Available Copies
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
La Conner Regional Library SFF NAGAMATSU 111415 FICTION Available -


Additional Resources